First Posted Card for 2013!

In an effort to kick start my creativity after a multitude of Christmas crafts, I found a new challenge website, Pals Paper Arts.  They post two challenges each month, one is a colour challenge and the other one is a sketch challenge.  The challenge (PPA150) this time is a colour challenge:

PPA Colour Challenge 150

The idea of a colour challenge appeals to me – they will hopefully inspire me to use colours and colour combinations that I wouldn’t normally.  For instance, I don’t reach for Melon Mambo very often as I find it to be a very bright pink but it works very well in combination with the two neutral colours.

I was inspired by one of Gail’s (Mamaxsix) cards on Splitcoaststampers which can be seen here.  I added it to my favourites with the notion to recreate it at a later date.  This challenge was the perfect time.  I swapped out the circles in Gail’s card for hearts – perfect for Valentine’s Day – and changed up the sentiment.  Here is my recreation:

WIP Paper Crafts_Inlaid Heart Valentine_blog

I love the inlaid embossing technique.  I used it on a few of my Christmas cards and love the look on this card – it’s the element that drew me to Gail’s card in the first place.

Thanks for stopping by!

Stampin’ Up Supplies:

  • Stamps: Teeny Tiny Wishes
  • Paper: Melon Mambo, Basic Gray, Basic Black
  • Ink: Melon Mambo
  • Accessories: Heart to Heart Punch (retired), Square Lattice Textured Impressions EF, sponge

Erin.

This entry was posted in Challenges, Pals Paper Arts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Posted Card for 2013!

  1. Ann Schach says:

    Oh my gosh…I love this technique! You have placed the hearts perfectly. Thanks for playing with the Pals at Pals Paper Arts!

  2. Cindy Hall says:

    Great design! I love the embossing and how you used the colors! Thanks for sharing with us at Pals Paper Arts this week!

  3. Dawn Tidd says:

    Love your first 2013 post and your card is great! That embossing with the hearts is gorgeous. Thanks for sharing and for joining us at the first PPA Challenge for 2013!

Leave a Reply

