Quick Christmas Cards with Some Wow!

Since I was behind on Christmas cards this year, I was looking for easy, but not boring, Christmas card ideas.  I saw these cards that Beth created using the Snow Festival DSP and was inspired.

This pack of designer paper has a lot of variety in it with lots of great patterns and a colour palette that I’ve really come to love using for Christmas cards.  This made it very easy to select a pattern and use it as the focal point of a card.  Here are two of the cards that I created:

WIP Paper Crafts Snow Festival DSP Cards_blog

For the house card, I kept the design very much the same as the card Beth made.  The only changes I made were to the designer paper layer which I sponged the edges of and embossed.  This gave the designer paper layer a little something extra.  Since I was embossing this layer, I used a strip of card stock as an embedded layer rather than using ribbon.  I really like how the Petals-a-Plenty pattern somehow made the card more cozy – kind of like a quilt.

Since the designer paper is thin, I used no tabs on the Big Shot platform and included a piece of light weight printer paper in the embossing folder with the designer paper.  This seemed to minimize the amount and the degree of cracking of the designer paper.  There was still some though so using a sponge dauber, I sponged Illuminate Glimmer Watermark ink all over the front of the designer paper while avoiding the cherry cobbler strip.  This helped to seal the cracks and gave the patterned paper a fabulous shimmer – just enough to add some wow but not too much that it overpowered the card.  I tried to photograph it but it was impossible to capture the subtle shimmer in a photograph.

The mitten card is a little different than the house card but still a similar design.  I selected the Nordic pattern for this card and used the Make a Mitten stamp set and coordinating punch.  The designer paper was sponged and then embossed using the the Perfect Polka Dots Textured Impressions EF.  This pattern is less complex and didn’t seem to crack the paper very much.  But I loved how the sponged Illuminate ink looked on the first card so I used it on this card too.  The mittens were stamped in coordinating ink and punched out – the pattern on the mittens matches the paper!  To highlight them, I placed them on a circle embossed with the same folder used on the designer paper layer and mounted this on a scallop circle.  A greeting from the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set punched out using the Word Window punch, layered on a Standard Label punched layer and embellished with some rhinestones finished the card.

There you have it, two cards that are very quick to create but still have some wow.  I will have some more to share – I ended up sending them out before photographing them but will be creating more to have on hand.

Thanks for stopping by!

Stampin’ Up Supplies:

  • Stamps: More Merry Messages, Teeny Tiny Wishes, Make a Mitten
  • Paper: Baja Breeze, Cherry Cobbler, Gumball Green, Primrose Petals, Snow Festival Designer Series Paper
  • Ink: Soft Suede, Cherry Cobbler, Primrose Petals
  • Accessories: Petals-a-Plenty & Perfect Polka Dots Textured Impressions Embossing Folders, Punches: Word Window, Standard Label, Large Oval, Scallop Oval and the Mitten builder punch, rhinestones

Erin.

This entry was posted in Cards, Christmas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick Christmas Cards with Some Wow!

  1. Bubamaramama says:

    Those are ADORABLE! Great cards!

  2. Beth Mc says:

    Love your cards! The mittens are my favorite.

Leave a Reply

