A “Quilted” Christmas Heart

First a clarification  about my last post – I had a question about the Daydream Medallions Wreath card.  I neglected to include that I used a 1 3/4 circle punch for the centre of the top medallion.  I then free cut an opening in the bottom medallion that was slightly larger.  The top medallion covers this up so it does not have to be a perfect cut.  Sorry that I forgot to include this info in my post.

Now, on to today’s card.  I have to say that I really like how this one came together.  I saw a “quilted” heart on a card while perusing the internet.  I really like how it looked and wanted to use one on a card.  I had intended to make a thinking of you card but found some inspiration when looking through my stamps to find a sentiment.  The Christmas sentiment – welcome Christmas into you heart – from the Heard from the Heart stamp set combined with the “quilted” heart could be used to create a “cozy” Christmas card:

I created the heart by adhering 4 pieces of coordinating pattern paper to a piece of copy paper and used a framelit to cut it out.  I played up the “quilting” by faux stitching along the “seams” and embossing it.  To keep with the theme, I added faux stitching to the Very Vanilla layer and distressed the edges of both layers.  A simple bow using bakers twine completed the card.

It’s a very simple Christmas card but I think that this one is my favourite so far this year.

Thanks for looking!

Erin.

Stampin’ Up Supplies:

  • Stamps: Heard from the Heart (retired)
  • Ink: Cherry Cobbler
  • Paper: Cherry Cobbler, Very Vanilla, Festival Of Prints DSP Stack
  • Accessories: Heart Collection Framelit, Essentials Paper-Piercing Pack, Paper Piercer, Cherry Cobbler Marker, Cherry Cobbler Bakers Twine, Lacy Brocade Textured Impressions EF
This entry was posted in Cards, Christmas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A “Quilted” Christmas Heart

  1. Julie H. says:

    This is so beautiful! Love the use of the heart shape.

  2. I LOVE your card, Erin! Your quilted heart and faux stitching look very real! Great mix of patterns and colors for your heart too! Wonderful card!

Leave a Reply

