A Halloween Card for a “Big” Boy

Yesterday I shared the Halloween card I made for my youngest nephew.  Today I’m sharing the Halloween card I’ve made for his older brother who is 4 and a “big” boy.  He likes “scary” and is fully versed in all things Halloween.

Here is the card I created:

For the background, I used the same technique that I used for this card.

Do you recognize the frame?  It’s from the Peekaboo Frames Bigz L die.  This die has a several frames complete with flaps built in.

The sentiment I wanted to use on the flap is unique.  I was going to just type something up in MS Word but then thought, I should try using My Digital Studio.  In MDS, I opened the Curvy Label punch to create an area in which to work – the punches in MDS are true to size meaning that they match the real world punches.  I added the spider web from Spooky Bingo Bits in Basic Gray and then typed my sentiment in a text box and placed it on top of the spider web and sized everything to fit within the punch shape.  The next step is important, before printing, delete the punch shape otherwise it will be printed – ask me how I know.  It was only there to help with the sizing of the sentiment.  Once printed, I was able to punch out my sentiment and just like I planned, it all fit within the punch opening.  This method for generating sentiments works like a charm!  I’ll have to remember this for future cards!  I added some Crystal Effects to the spider to give it some dimension.

Now, what’s under the flap??  Take a look:

Get it!?  Peek-a-boooo!  Hee hee.   Hopefully my nephew thinks it’s as funny as his auntie does!  🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

Stampin’ Up Supplies:

  • Stamps: Googly Ghouls, Spooky Bingo Bits (MDS)
  • Paper: Basic Black, Pumpkin Pie, Whisper White
  • Ink: Basic Black, Illuminate Glimmer Watermark pad
  • Accessories: My Digital Studio, Peekaboo Frames Bigz L Die, Spider Web Textured Impressions EF, Curvy Label Punch, Googlies

Erin.

This entry was posted in Cards, For Kids, Halloween, Hybrid, My Digital Studio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

