Halloween Card for a Toddler

Today I’m sharing a Halloween card I made for my youngest nephew.  He is 1 1/2 and doesn’t really get the concept of Halloween yet.  I do know that he is crazy about pumpkins right now so his Halloween card should have a pumpkin.  He also loves animals.  And finally, given his age, it can’t be a scary Halloween card.

Here is the card I created:

I think that he’ll love the Frightening Feline cat hiding behind a pumpkin.  Perhaps in this case it should be Frightened Feline not Frightening Feline.  To appeal to my nephew’s age, I chose bright colours and embossed background to hopefully add some interest.  The really fun part, I added googly eyes.  I’ll know that he likes the card if it manages to get his attention for more than a second or two.  Here’s hoping.

Before signing off, I want to share a quick tip on how I added two colours to the sentiment:

  1. I put a post-it note over the words and tapped my Tangerine Tango stamp pad on the pumpkin in the sentiment.
  2. I then removed the post-it note and used my blender pen to remove the little bit of Tangerine Tango ink that got on the words.  The blender pen is a great way to remove any stray ink from a stamp, especially if you are trying to get it off of a small area.  This is a great tip that I learned along the way that makes colouring on stamps so much easier!
  3. Finally, I used my Basic Black marker to colour in the words.

Stampin’ Up Supplies:

  • Stamps: Frightening Feline, Delightful Dozen
  • Paper: Basic Black, Tangerine Tango, Lucky Limeade
  • Ink: Basic Black, Tangerine Tango
  • Accessories: Oval and Scallop Oval Punches, Chevron Textured Impressions EF, Basic Black marker, Googlies

Thanks for stopping by!

Erin.

This entry was posted in Cards, For Kids, Halloween and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

