A Christmas Card Using a Mojo Monday Sketch (Mojo263)

For the first time in a long time, I spent most of last week traveling for work.  I was finally able to spend some time in my craft area today.  What a great way to relax! The best part, I finished several cards so stay tuned, there will be lots of posts this week!

Today’s card is based on this week’s Mojo Monday sketch (http://mojomonday.blogspot.ca/).  Here is a copy of the Mojo263 sketch:

Here is my version:

I’ve come to realize over the past several weeks that I really do enjoy working with card sketches.  I tend to spend a really long time agonizing over the layout for a card.  When you have a perfectionist streak, it is very hard commit to a design – what if it could be even better!?  Having the layout set helps me to create because I just have to focus on the individual components.  It also helps that I have become better at interpreting a sketch by realizing that the components you add don’t have to be an exact match to the placeholders in the sketch despite what my mind may tell me.

As soon as I saw the circle in the sketch, I knew that I wanted to use the snowflake stamp from the Mixed Medley set.  I intended to include a sentiment using the placeholder peaking out from behind the band at the top of the card because it seemed to be the natural spot for a sentiment to go.  Then, looking at the “Merry Christmas” sentiment from the same set, I realized that it is circular which would tie in nicely with the “circular” snowflake.  However, the sentiment is small and didn’t seem to fit at the intended placeholder so I decided to put it “where the embellishment goes”.  By doing this, I was able to add yet another circle at the top placeholder and embellish it with a snowflake.  By interpreting the sketch, I was able to make the sketch work for me and create a theme – circles!  The best part, I created a Christmas card using non-traditional colours.  Yay me – I’ve stepped outside of the box!

Stampin’ Up Supplies:

  • Stamps: Mixed Medley
  • Paper: Crumb Cake, Island Indigo, Cherry Cobbler, Early Espresso, Very Vanilla, and Festival of Prints DSP Stack
  • Ink: Island Indigo, Cherry Cobbler
  • Accessories: Snow Burst Textured Impressions EF (retired), Northern Frost Sizzlits Decorative Strip (retired), Essentials Paper-Piercing Pack, 1 1/4″ Scallop Circle Punch, Rhinestones

Thanks for stopping by!

Erin.

This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Christmas, Mojo Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

