First Christmas Card for 2012

I love to make Christmas cards!  The only problem is, I tend to procrastinate and by the time the mad rush to create them is over, I am sick and tired of Christmas cards and paper crafts in general!

This year I’m starting a little earlier.  Not as early as some but definitely early for me.  I’m going to try making several different designs this year.  In the past I’ve stuck to two or three designs that I mass produce.  This year I’m going to switch it up and bit and finally use more of the many “I had to have Christmas stamps” that are in my collection but have never seen ink.

So here is my first Christmas card for 2012.  Overall, I’m happy with the design but can’t help but feel that it is missing something.  I chose the Evergreen stamp set from the Holiday Catalog.  I stamped the solid tree stamp in kiwi kiss.  Then, using my Stamp-a-ma jig, I stamped the “loopy” tree on top using VersaMark and Iridescent ice embossing power – I thought that it might look a little like glistening snow.  I might have to revisit this design…

I stuck with a traditional colour palette – very vanilla, cherry cobbler and kiwi kiss (a blast from the past, a colour that I was sad to see retired).  I’m kind a stickler for tradition when it comes to my Christmas cards – and decorating too – but maybe I’ll get creative this year and try some other colour schemes.  Stay tuned!

Supplies:

  • Stamps: Evergreen, Petite Pairs
  • Paper: Very Vanilla, Cherry Cobbler and Raspberry Tart DSP (retired)
  • Ink: Cherry Cobbler, Kiwi Kiss (retired), VersaMark
  • Accessories: Iridescent ice embossing powder, Cherry Cobbler seam binding and the large oval and scallop oval punches

Thanks for stopping by!

Erin.

This entry was posted in Cards, Christmas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

